Referee Made Interesting Comment To Chris Paul and His Response Led To A Technical

Chris Paul has had a rocky start to the season in terms of three-point shooting. However, as of late, he has been absolutely amazing in terms of taking care of the ball. In the last two games, he has only one turnover while averaging 13.5 assists. That one turnover came when Paul was called for a carrying violation in the Suns vs Timberwolves game last night. Paul did not like the call and the referee made a comment which lead to a response that subsequently earned him a technical.

Referees are always constantly struggling with NBA players when it comes to making calls. Players think they are right but the referees eventually make the final call. For Paul, it was no different. In the last minute and five seconds of the fourth quarter, the 18-year veteran was called for a palming violation which is recorded as a turnover. According to Paul, the referee then made a comment about if he was able to do something like that he would be in the league. The response: "Well we know who was never a ball handler." The referee did not like that and handed out a technical to Paul.

It is always interesting to get inside details of the conversations players and referees have throughout the course of the game. In this case, we do not have a confirmation from referee Tre Maddox if he actually said what he said to Paul. But, it would not be far from the truth if he is not denying it either. 

The Suns are one of the hottest teams in the league to start the season. The 6-1 record is thanks to Devin Booker and Paul who are the leaders of the team. Paul has made an instant impact since arriving in Phoenix, taking them to the Western Conference Semi-Finals last year, something Booker could not have done alone. 

Phoenix is set to play the Dame-less Portland team on Friday. They look to continue their winning ways and hopefully, there won't be any run-ins with the referees in that game.

Photo Credit Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports