NBA Unveils New Trophies and Award Names

In a big change for the public image of the sport, the NBA just unveiled its new lineup of end-of-season awards. In addition to renaming the awards that already existed, the league also introduced the new Clutch Player of the Year Award.
From now on, the titles of the awards will include the names of famous players who best represent the award. The following players received the honors: Michael Jordan for Most Valuable Player, Hakeem Olaijuwan for Defensive Player of the Year, Wilt Chamberlain for Rookie of the Year, John Havlicek for Sixth Man of the Year, and George Mikan for Most Improved Player. The new Clutch Player of the Year award is named after Jerry West. In their official release, the league said it hopes to honor “the pioneers who helped define the standards of excellence that these trophies represent.”

Commissioner Adam Silver offered the following quote: “Our new collection of trophies celebrates some of the greatest and most impactful players in the history of the NBA. As we recognize the league’s top performers each season, we also pay tribute to the legends who embody these prestigious awards.” What do you think of the redesigns? Were they necessary, or are Silver and the league doing too much? 

© Christopher Hanewinckel-USA TODAY Sports